Our U16 Footballers were beaten by a very lively Miltown Malbay side on a scoreline 3-12 to 1-10 on Tuesday evening in a match that was originally sceduled for Saturday but postponed at the 11th hour. On this coming Saturday the boys are back in action with an away game against Kilrush/Killimer. The game is timed once again for 12noon.

ClooneyQuin U16 Footballers will have their first outing in this year's championship when they make the journey to Miltown Malbay on Saturday to take on the host club in a match that will get underway at 12noon. As U14 Div.3 Champions from 2012 our boys will travel with alot of confidence. Lets hope they get the season off to a winning start.

‘Heads or Tails?’  Maybe it was not the only factor in deciding the destination of the U16B Shield title but losing the toss and having to face the gale force wind in the opening period had a big bearing on the outcome. Corofin managed to build a commanding 2-9 to 1-0 half-time lead and try as they might, CQ could not reel in the North Clare boys in the second half despite strong performances from Luke McCarthy, Fergal Coughlan, David Sheehy and goal scorer, Michael Corry. The final score was Corofin 3-12 ClooneyQuin 1-2.

ClooneyQuin’s U16 Footballers have qualified for the County Div.2 Shield Final. Led by the management team of Brian O’Neill, Liam Conneally, Brian Rochford and Peter Sheehy they secured their place in the final last Monday with a 2-15 to 5-5 victory over Cratloe. Their opponents in Sunday’s final will be Corofin whom they have already met in the group stages. On that occasion CQ finished on the right side of a 4-9 to 3-7 score line in a most entertaining match. While this win will give our boys confidence, there is likely to be little between the sides again when they meet on Sunday evening. The  decider is currently fixed for Ennistymon at 5pm but this has to be confirmed.

Last week we wondered which team would have learned most from the drawn encounter. The answer was given in Lissycasey last Saturday. As in the first match, Coolmeen/Kildysart started brightly, but once again, failed to convert their early supremacy to scores on the board and allowed Clooney/Quin take the initiative and a lead that they were to hold to the final whistle. Their opening score came from ‘wing-wizard’ Michael Corry after 13 mins. as he jinked along the endline, throwing more dummies than you’d find in a crèche, before coolly dispatching the ball to the net. The amalgamation responded with two Ben Cleary points before wind-assisted Clooney/Quin hit a purple patch. Points from Conor Grogan (2), Michael Corry and David Sheehy provided the appetiser for C/Q’s 2nd green flag. And this came from the goal poacher supreme, Davy O’Brien in the 25th minute. Clooney/Quin went to the break a satisfied team holding a 2-4 to 0-3 lead.

If C/Q played with the wind in the first half, they played with the ball in the second half! We were 8 minutes into the 2nd period when the next score came and it was Davy O’Brien who was again on hand to finish to the net for C/Q’s third goal. A lesser team would have packed up at this stage and headed home, but, credit to Coolmeen/Kildysart who kept fighting to the finish and were rewarded with a goal of their own in the 47th minute from Cian Murphy.

However, Clooney/Quin responded to this new challenge with points from Rory Corbett and Conor Grogan. Then, following a terrific save from Cian Slattery from point blank range, the ball was moved smartly up field and Davy O’Brien completed his hat trick with a fisted goal from an excellent Michael Corry pass.

The amalgamation did not give in and finished with another Cian Murphy goal and two pointed frees from Ben Cleary.

John Brew’s full-time whistle brought scenes of great joy before Conor Grogan was presented with the winning trophy. The management team of Brian O’Neill, Peter Sheehy and Liam Conneally can be well pleased that their charges got their just rewards for a tremendous team display.

Final Score: Clooney/Quin 4-6  Coolmen/Kildysart 2-6

Clooney/Quin: Cian Slattery, Conor Ryan, Michael Culligan, Luke McCarthy, Alex McGuire, Brian Kelly, Ruadhan Dunne, Eanna Barry, Michael Corry(1-1), Conor Grogan(0-3) , Rory Corbett(0-1), David Sheehy (0-1), Davy O’Brien (3-0); Colm Farrell, Tadhg Corbett, Fergal Coughlan, Douglas Reddan, Cillian Donovan.